Sophiaaxo

The Magic CherryActive Drink

– LIFESTYLE –

When CherryActive reached out to me and asked me if I wanted to try their Montmorency Cherry Juice Drink*  I was delighted to jump straight into it. I had never heard of this brand before nor this Cherry Drink that is proven to help multiple things. This is going to be a long blog post but if you are someone who suffers from these problems and you want to find out how this drink will help you, then skip ahead 🙂

CherryActive have a drink called The Montmorency Cherry Drink and it is basically a magic drink. Research has shown that if you are drinking the drink the right amount of times then it may help reduce inflammation, ease pain from arthritis, reduce the occurrence of gout, help to maintain good nights sleep pattern and also as part of a healthy diet can help the recovery process from working out. The drink is purely made from Montmorency cherries. These cherries are normally in powders, juices and even dried Montmorency Cherries. There are no side effects when taking the drink, but if you have any allergies to cherries or fruits in general then talk to your doctor before hand. Lastly, the drink can be consumed by pregnant women and children. if you are pregnant I would consult a doctor before hand also, but for children it is completely fine. The sugar in the drink would go towards their daily sugars and because the drink is 100% Montmorency cherries it could be classed as food.

Now, I would consider myself to be quite a healthy active person. I like to keep fit and motivated to want to look good. I try to go to the gym about 6 days a week and I normally eat really good (except from the cheat days.. we all have them don’t judge lol). When I workout really hard, I struggle for the next two days after going to the gym as I am aching and am in pain. I would also say that my sleeping at times isn’t the best either. I go through stages where sometimes I struggled to get 8/8:30 hours of sleep a night, and other nights I get about 9/10 hours of sleep. When I get under 8 hours of sleep, I find myself struggling the next day and am always taking naps. Therefore, in that sense this drink sounded perfect for me.

I am going to talk about the health benefits that this drink has on the different problems-

Gout

What is gout?-

Gout is a form of arthritis that sometimes causes sudden and really painful attacks in the joints of the foot (especially the big toe), knees, hands and wrists. It normally affects 1 in 14 men and 1 in 35 women. It is caused by excessive amounts of uric acid in the bloodstream and this is caused when there isn’t enough urine passed.

How Montmorency Cherries help-

It is shown that the cherries contain levels of anthocyanin (higher than normal cherries) this gives the drink its bright red colour. This is their reason behind the fruit’s uric acid lowering effects. Anthocyanins posses anti-inflammatory properties which will help inflammation and pain associated with gout attacks.

Arthritis

What is Arthritis?

Arthritis is inflammation within a joint. It occurs when the cartilage becomes thinner and rougher between a joint. the loss of cartilage causes stiffness and paint, mostly known in the fingers and the knees. It is really well known in the UK as over 8 million people have it. It is very common in older people, especially women.

How Montmorency Cherries help- 

Anthocyanin is found in the cherries and again it helps reduce inflammation and pain from the joints.

Insomnia

What is Insomnia? 

Insomnia can also be known as sleeplessness is a sleep disorder in which people have the inability to fall asleep. They often suffer with poor sleep quality as they don’t stay asleep for long periods of time without waking up. Insomnia has a big amount of causes such as the use of drugs, caffeine, nicotine, alcohol and medications (these are the regular causes of Insomnia) Also, stress, anxiety, jet lag, poor sleep hygiene (noise, heat, poor bedding, light)

How Montmorency Cherries help- 

Melatonin is a natural compound produced in the brain’s pineal gland, this controls the bodies natural sleep cycles. Studies show that insomniacs have low levels of circling melatonin which causes sleep problems. Montmorency cherries have a food source of melatonin. Drinking 30ml Montmorency cherry drink, mixed with a little bit of water an hour before bed is said to help.

Exercise Recovery 

What is exercise recovery? 

Exercise recovery is the period after you have worked out in which your body is trying to recover. When you work out your body and your muscles go through a lot and having a rest after working out is essential for the body to heal. Intense or long exercise can cause physical and oxidative damage to the muscle fibres and cells. The damage can cause inflammation and soreness worked in the muscles, this is why after you have worked out a day or two later your body aches and hurts. It takes a couple of days after working out hard for your muscles to fully recover and gain their strength back. A faster recovery period can result into higher training volumes and better improvements in strength, power, speed and endurance.

How Montmorency Cherries help –

The cherries contain specific levels of natural copings, called anthocyanin. Which is used to reduce inflammation after intense training. Anthocyanins and other compounds found in the cherries are powerful antioxidants and these sort out the muscles after a long intense workout. the properties of the cherries can help speed up the recovery process and contribute to a better training performance. The cherries are proved to help sleep quantity and quality, therefore a better nights sleep contributes to a better recovery after the body has worked out.

fullsizeoutput_1bde

fullsizeoutput_1bdd

I was drinking the drink after a workout and before bed. Exercise recovery and sleep were the reasons as to why I wanted to take this drink. Therefore it was only best to do it at these times. After working out intensively for about a week i was drinkning this drink after. I liked grabbing this drink and mixing it with water and sitting in my back garden and chilling after a long sweaty workout. Drinking this drink did reduce the amount of pain my muscles were in from working out, they didnt hurt as much as they normally did, although, I was still a bit of pain. Just not as bad. It made me reach for this drink a lot as I knew that it was going to help increase the recovery.

Sleep wise I didn’t really notice a difference in my sleep, although it did make me fall asleep instantly as soon as i got in to bed. Normally i am wriggling around for about 10 minutes.

As I am being completely honest in this post I have to address the fact that while I was drinkning this drink, I did notice that when I passed urine it was red from the drink after  that it wasnt red anymore.

To be honest, I didn’t really like the taste of the drink but because I knew it was going to help me in the long run I would drink it. The drink is VERY VERY STRONG!!! (I NEED TO EMPHASISE HOW STRONG IT IS) You know when you blow up balloons and your jar starts to hurt, well when you drink this drink for the first couple of times it does the same thing to your jaw (especially without water, but then you are meant to add water) Drinking It with water is what you are supposed to do, but I wanted to try it with and without water to see what the effects were.

fullsizeoutput_1bdb

fullsizeoutput_1be2.jpeg

fullsizeoutput_1bd9

The drink is 473ml and will cater for 15 servings. Add around 30ml of the cherry concentrated drink and add water. Without water it is very strong to the point where it is bitter sweet. I did try it without the water and it was soooo sweet!

fullsizeoutput_1be0.jpeg
Me trying to brave it and drink it without water – I wouldn’t recommend it.

fullsizeoutput_1bdc

The packaging of the bottle was really cool, you could tell that it was a good quality product. It didn’t feel cheap at all.

I would love to see what effects this would have on someone who suffers from arthritis and gout. If you want to buy this CherryActive drink then you can get it online or alternatively you can get it from Holland and Barrett if you are looking to buy just one serving. They do also do capsules, shots, dried cherries, chocolate cherries and obviously the drink and this drink retails for £15.99.

I think if you try the products and they are for you, then they are definitely worth buying. I would love to try the cherries and this is probably more up my street then the drink, however I did really enjoy the whole concept of the drink as a whole.

Let me know if you have tried this drink before and if you get this drink. If you had this drink what did it target for you??

Sophia xo

Are you all caught up with my other posts?-

Julys Birchbox Review 

Julys Glossybox Review 

LETS BE FRIENDS!

Follow my Instagram – https://www.instagram.com/sophia_tranterxxx/
Follow my Twitter – https://twitter.com/sophiatranterxo
Follow my blog with Bloglovin

Comments

43 responses to “The Magic CherryActive Drink”

  1. Jessica & James Avatar

    Wow this sounds like a great product. Never heard of it before but by reading this I am intrigued to find out more for myself! Thanks for sharing!

    Jessica & James | http://www.foodandbaker.co.uk / http://www.foodandbakertravels.co.uk

    Liked by 1 person

    1. sophiaaxo Avatar

      I had never heard of this either before. Any time! I’m glad you enjoyed reading it! xx

      Like

  2. hayleyxmartin Avatar
    hayleyxmartin

    I have never heard of this! It sounds really good but not sure if it is something I would buy. Definitely would recommend to anyone that has any of the conditions that it could possibly help.

    hayley // hayleyxmartin.com

    Liked by 1 person

  3. xhighlandbeauty Avatar
    xhighlandbeauty

    Sounds like a pretty great drink, but maybe too sweet for myself 😦 but sounds like its got some fab health benefits!

    Heather xox
    http://www.xhighlandbeauty.co.uk

    Liked by 1 person

    1. sophiaaxo Avatar

      it is really sweet! it does!! I think its really great that it does. xx

      Like

  4. palegirlrambling Avatar

    What an interesting drink, be never heard of it before!
    I’d be interested to see if it helped me fall asleep as fast as it made you! I always toss and turn! Will have to check it out next time I’m out shopping!
    PaleGirlRambling xo

    Liked by 1 person

    1. sophiaaxo Avatar

      I hadn’t either! So do I, it sounds perfect for those days where you feel like you will struggle to sleep! xx

      Like

  5. mymanyfancies Avatar
    mymanyfancies

    I’ve never seen this product before but, I need it !! omg thank you for this outstanding review i’m definitely going to be on the look out for it now so that I can sleep at night lol Xx

    Liked by 1 person

    1. sophiaaxo Avatar

      Thank you so much!! 🙂 Yes haha, least you know you have one solution to help you sleep if you need it haha xx

      Liked by 1 person

  6. han (@BlogAboutHanney) Avatar

    Wow this sounds great, I’d never heard of this before! xo

    Hanney | http://www.blogabouthanney.com

    Liked by 1 person

    1. sophiaaxo Avatar

      I know right?! and neither had I, I’m glad I have now though 🙂 xx

      Like

  7. Ellyn Rebecca Avatar

    Although I don’t personally suffer with any of these problems, the fact that there is a drink that could help people with these is actually really interesting – I think it would be great as it’s sort of like taking medicine but you’re having a nice refreshing drink!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. sophiaaxo Avatar

      YES EXACTLY!!! I think it is so cool! You might not have to turn to medication if you suffer with these problems! xx

      Like

  8. Michaela Avatar

    This is a really good in depth review , although I’ve never heard of it before. Will definitely be recommending to people who might benefit from this! 😊

    ohsoblissful.wordpress.com

    Liked by 1 person

    1. sophiaaxo Avatar

      Thank you. Hopefully more people will become aware of this drink and people will benefit from it! thank you though x

      Liked by 1 person

  9. itsatashathing Avatar

    I like the sound of this I’ve been struggling to go to sleep lately to

    Tasha x

    http://itsatashathing.blogspot.co.uk/

    Liked by 1 person

    1. sophiaaxo Avatar

      I hate it, its the worst feeling because then you wake up really tired the next day. I normally wake up a couple of times during my sleep aswell, which I hate too! x

      Like

  10. Momma Review Avatar

    Sounds delicious! Nice write up on the product!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. sophiaaxo Avatar

      Thank you 🙂 x

      Like

  11. gingersnapps Avatar

    I like the sound of this product and that it could help people with pain! The flavour seems quite yumy too. The price tag puts me off a bit though…. Great write up 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. sophiaaxo Avatar

      I think it is sooo good! I see what you mean, could always look online for a cheaper version? or even just get a sachet from Holland and Barrett? x

      Liked by 1 person

  12. chloedickenson Avatar

    I’ve never even heard of this drink before but it sounds amazing! Xx

    Liked by 1 person

    1. sophiaaxo Avatar

      Neither had I and I’m glad that you think so too! xx

      Liked by 1 person

  13. Jade Mayhead Avatar
    Jade Mayhead

    The benefits are insane! Only one drink has this many benefits! The price doesn’t even seem high for the results of this. Great post xo

    Liked by 1 person

    1. sophiaaxo Avatar

      The benefits are crazy and its all because of this drink! I was expecting a higher price range to be honest but thank you xx

      Liked by 1 person

  14. Siobhan Macdonald Avatar

    Great post, I love how clearly you explained all the health benefits. Definitely a product I am looking into using x

    Liked by 1 person

    1. sophiaaxo Avatar

      I thought it would be a great idea just incase someone who suffers with any of these problems wanted to know how it helped. xxx

      Like

  15. terriheckley Avatar

    Oh wow, I never knew cherries helped with Arthritis! Such an informative post! x

    Terri / http://www.territalks.co.uk

    Liked by 1 person

    1. sophiaaxo Avatar

      Neither did I! you learn something new every day! thank you girl x

      Like

  16. […] The Magic CherryActive Drink […]

    Liked by 1 person

  17. gingersnapps Avatar

    That’s a great idea actually! Thanks x

    Liked by 1 person

  18. Corey Avatar

    I am no longer certain the place you’re getting your information, but good topic. I needs to spend a while learning much more or working out more. Thanks for fantastic information I used to be looking for this info for my mission.

    Like

  19. Lucio Avatar

    I have been surfing on-line greater than three hours today, yet I never discovered any fascinating article like yours. It’s lovely value sufficient for me. Personally, if all site owners and bloggers made just right content material as you probably did, the internet will be a lot more helpful than ever before.

    Like

  20. […] The Magic CherryActive Drink […]

    Liked by 1 person

  21. Meet Courtney Avatar

    I have never been a fan of cherry flavored anything lol. But this drink seems to offer so much health-wise!! If only they had different flavors >.<

    Liked by 1 person

    1. sophiaaxo Avatar

      oh really thats interesting. I think you are the first person I have ever heard say that. It literally does, it actually shocked me how good it is. That would be a cool idea!

      Liked by 1 person

  22. […] The Magic CherryActive Drink […]

    Liked by 1 person

  23. Wandering Curiosities Avatar

    I love cherry flavoured things! I actually think its my favourite fruit flavour! This sounds interesting and I am trying to take a more holistic approach to my health so reading some of the benefits is really intriguing. I may purchase some as my boyfriend has arthritis and we are always looking for something to help!

    Michelle x
    http://www.wanderingcuriosities.com

    Liked by 1 person

    1. sophiaaxo Avatar

      I love anything cherry flavoured too. I also love grape flavoured things! I am glad you found it intriguing! Definitely look in to it, and even look at Holland and Barrett if you only want to purchase one sachet! x

      Like

  24. theflowerthatblooms Avatar

    I find posts like this really interesting! I studied sport at University and we looked into cherry juice for recovery but I didn’t know it could help benefit people who struggle to sleep. Really intersting!

    – Lauren! x
    http://theflowerthatblooms.com/

    Liked by 1 person

    1. sophiaaxo Avatar

      Thank you so much. Did you enjoy looking at it? interesting!!! x

      Like

Leave a comment